Broadband Commission for Sustainable Development (BCSD)

The BCSD was established in 2010 by ITU and UNESCO with the aim of contributing to the achievement of the UN's Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) by 2030 through special support for broadband development.

The Commission regularly publishes reports and organises high-level expert seminars, sometimes in conjunction with the UN General Assembly, the ITU Plenipotentiary Conference, the UNESCO General Conference, and the Davos World Economic Forum.

The Commission has about 60 members, mostly CEOs of global corporations and high-ranking government representatives. It is chaired jointly by the President of the Republic of Rwanada, Paul Kagame, and Carlos Slim Helú of the Mexican Slim Foundation. Co-Vice Chairs are the General Secretaries of ITU and UNESCO, Houlin Zhao and Audrey Azoulay.


to overview